St Mary’s is an amazing church that was declared redundant a while ago, but it has been lovingly looked after by a group of volunteers, and is now used for such things as art exhibitions and concerts.
Standing in a fascinating churchyard containing the ruined remains of a 12th century Benedictine Priory, , the exterior of the church is 14th – 15th century Perpendicular style flint and stone. The tower is enormous, standing at 110 feet.
The inside is almost square, and very light with a large number of stained glass windows, many of whom are modern, the originals having been damaged in the Second World War. Much of the rest of the interior dates back to the 14th and 15th century, particularly the roof timbers with their fascinating bosses depicting angels, a harp and a lion.
The church was struck by lightning on 4th Augusy 1577, when reputedly a large black dog (the Black Shuck that haunts the coast and countryside of East Anglia) raced around the church attacking members of the congregation.
Lovely to see a beautiful historic church kept alive by the local community and used for other functions than its original purpose